Mmcet History

Home / Mmcet History


The Milton Margai College of Education and Technology (MMCET) started as a Teacher Training Department (TTD) at Fourah Bay College, Mount Aureol. The Programme of the TTD was to train teachers for primary schools. The qualification gained by the trainees was the Teachers Certificate (TC).
In 1960 Government decided to move the TTD from Fourah Bay College and established it as a separate college at the Old Military Barracks at Tower Hill.  The new college was called Freetown Training College for Teachers whilst at the same time a new site was being developed for the college at Goderich with funds provided by ODA. In September 1963, the new buildings were formally opened by the Governor–General, Sir Henry Lightfoot Boston.
The new college was named Milton Margai Teachers College (MMTC) after the first Prime Minister of Sierra Leone, Sir, Milton Margai. He himself was present at the opening ceremony.  In the early years of its existence, the college offered Teacher’s Certificate and Teacher’s Advance Certificate (TAC) courses.  The courses offered included Christian Religious Education, English, French, Arts and Craft, Home Economics, Music and Sciences, including Rural Science.

In 1995, the college was upgraded to the status of a Degree granting institution and renamed Milton Margai College of Education (MMCE), offering courses such as Educational Administration, Guidance & Counseling, Measurement and Evaluation etc leading to the Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) Degree.  Six years later, in 2001 the college was again transformed into a Polytechnic  Institution.
Established by an Act of Parliament in 2001, the college became a Polytechnic and it was thereafter re-named Milton Margai College of Education and Technology (MMCET).  His Excellency The
President, Alhaji Dr. Ahmad Tejan Kabba launched this Polytechnic Institution on the 26th November, 2001.  The institution has three campuses – Brookfields, Congo Cross and Goderich.
The Polytechnic offers courses ranging from Trade Certificate.  Certificate, National Diploma, Higher National Diploma, and Higher Teacher’s Certificate to Degree level.